Import contracts and IB Symbol Limit

IBPlugin is further development of TWSLink.It is focused for the useage with MetaTrader. But as it is a DLL, you can use it everywhere on Windows which supports DLL, e.g. in Trade Station or C++ applications or make wrapper for Perl, Python etc.

Users who just registered, please write an email to
forum@trade-commander.de
with your username mentioned.
So we can distinguish you from bots.
Thank you
Post Reply
HarrisonProgramming
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:24 pm

Import contracts and IB Symbol Limit

Post by HarrisonProgramming »

Hi, Thank you for your new creation IBPlugin!

Could you help with some questions with IBPlugin?

I see what one can import contracts one by one manually from Admin Panel. Is there a way that users can import a list of symbols, e.g. SP 500 symbols in US stocks without going through this manual process?

Let's say my account has 100 symbol limit with IB. I may be monitoring 500 symbols and can place order any time for any of the 500 symbols, but limit the number of positions to less than 100. Can this be done without increasing my symbol limit with IB?

Thank you!

board_admin
Site Admin
Posts: 212
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:24 pm

Re: Import contracts and IB Symbol Limit

Post by board_admin »

Hello Sir,
sorry for late answer - got no notification.
As you paid for support you can ask per email.

Just to clarify: Import contracts is not really required.
When you have a conid, so a unique id for contract provided by InteractiveOrders,
you just can use this conid as 2nd parameter for function:

ibgORDER_SEND(..,conid,...)

The symbol database purpose is to map a symbol of another symbology to an IB contract.
So for instance symbols of TradeStation or MetaTrader.

Once you mapped a symbol, you can get conid required by calling the function:

conid=ibgNAME_TO_UID(my_TradeStation_Symbol_mapped_in_db)

You can import multiple IB contracts in one step into database, but how should you automated the mapping ?
I see no way than set the mapped symbol manually.

---
2nd question. Not clear about what you mean.
What do you mean by limit of 100 positions ?

Thank you

HarrisonProgramming
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 08, 2018 4:24 pm

Re: Import contracts and IB Symbol Limit

Post by HarrisonProgramming »

Thank you! You have answered my questions.

Post Reply