Notification + Size limitation + partial fills

Discuss, post questions here about MTIBBridge the MetaTrader-Interactive Brokers trade-copier

Users who just registered, please write an email to
forum@trade-commander.de
with your username mentioned.
So we can distinguish you from bots.
Thank you
Post Reply
bridgetester88
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:41 pm

Notification + Size limitation + partial fills

Post by bridgetester88 » Fri Nov 16, 2018 12:23 pm

hI
I tried to group several question inside this thread.


NOTIFICATION
How does it work the notification from Bridge Software?
Does it notify by email when:
1. A trade is not opened from mt4 to tws?
2. A trade is not closed from mt4 to TWS?
I need to know also if TWS owns a notification feature.

----------------------------------------------------------

TWS SIZE LIMITATION ON OPENING / CLOSING not clear
I do know that size management inside MT4 and TWS is different, but it's not clear to me.

Scenario 1
On MT4 I'm testing with 0.01 lotsize opening. On mt4 means 1k
On TWS I get this message:
<< Order message SELL 1K EUR.USD forex
Warning: your order size is below the USD 25000 idealPRO MINIMUM AND WILL BE ROUTED AS AN ODD LOT ORDER
>>
After some clicks on the popup, I'm able to get copied 1k from MT4 to 1k TWS

On MT4 I choose to close trade with -0.1 eur loss on eurusd. realized loss for this trade only.
On TWS : I see the trade copied and closed, losing about 4 eur ! Is this 4 eur the realized loss for THAT trade?
Or should I enable a specific column reporting the realized loss for that trade? I didn't find it
I just want to know, after closing, how much money I gained/lost (in MT4 it's so clear!)



Scenario 2 ERROR ON MARGIN
<<The order has been accepted by the system but will not sent to the exchange until
the financial capacity of the account is sufficient to cover the margin requirements>>

It seems there is a limitation inside TWS about size closing positions
TWS sometimes stop the closing process when I get over 100k to close...
(I'm using the demo TWS)
So, on MT4 ten trades of 1 lot each are correctly closed, but on TWS they get not closed.
If I use 0.05 inside MT4, TWS correctly closed all trades.

What's wrong?
Does this problem is related to the minimum size at IB?

So, how I can manage this matter to have the same trading lotsize on TWS?

-----------------------------------------

CLOSING order partially filled
Rarely it happens on TWS the trade is partially closed.
Why does it happen and how to avoid?
I prefer a worst price on closing, but I need a total closing on TWS.
Not a partial closing.

----------------------
BRIDGE SOFTWARE FILTER ON PENDING ORDERS

can you enlarge a bit this window?
Or better can you let me change the size of this window?
It's actually blocked, it's very short in vertical

regards

board_admin
Site Admin
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:24 pm

Re: Notification + Size limitation + partial fills

Post by board_admin » Fri Nov 16, 2018 6:22 pm

The bridge makes sense from >= 20k USD equivalent.
Below this size, IB in fact complains about ordersize and it is possible that an order is delayed.

(When you need to test the brige, use the paper account.)

Costs. I don't think the 4 EUR were because of profit and loss. You can check this in the execution table of TWS or bridge,
when you closed it with the bridge.

When you consider the price for such trade at IB, $2, then $4 = 2 x $2. Open and close.

-- margin error
If you have not the margin to do a trade, what should the bridge do ?
Even a close trade can raise the margin and IB is not executing this order
because the risk would get above their limits.
So, there is nothing wrong. When IB rejects an order execution
you violated their rules. Avoid this and your trades get executed.

Ib has size limits. Those depend on contract and they have table where you can see the limits.
But the limit is not at 100.000 and i don't think your order was not executed because of size limit.

It most likely was not executed because of margin violation.


What you should always ensure is that you have sufficient funds before trading.
To get an idea how IB and the bridge performs in comparison to MetaTrader,
fund you paper account with same funds as a MetaTrader test account, like you see in the stresstest.
Do all the trades with same size at MT and IB (>= 20.000).

The stresstest compares the final balance difference. This difference includes ALL costs, also commission at IB side.

--- partial closing
Partial executions are possible at IB.
If you mean that a position that has been opened by bridge was not fully closed when MT sends out close
order, i am pretty sure this was not the case.

In this case, please send the logfiles, along with Symbol, time and ticket information and then we can reproduce what
exactly happened.

Whats possible: You place a trade in MT, say 1 lot, which is executed immediately. At IB you get a partial fill, say 0.5 lot.
The bridge knows this. So, now you close the trade, then bridge only executes an opposite order of 0.5 lot and not 1,
because only 0.5 lot were filled for original order.


--- pending orders window
You can size the bridge frame. Just move with mouse over right frame. The cursor should change and then drag to the right.

bridgetester88
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:41 pm

Re: Notification + Size limitation + partial fills

Post by bridgetester88 » Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:10 am

<<The bridge makes sense from >= 20k USD equivalent.
Below this size, IB in fact complains about ordersize and it is possible that an order is delayed.>>

So, what about using multiplier inside TC?
I'd like to trade 0.01 on MT4, and using the multiplier feature inside TC to transfer my trade to TWS using the correct trade size.

Example
MT4 balance 5k usd
TWS IB balance 100k usd

MT4 opens 0.01 eurusd long
Using multiplier feature set to 20, TC should transfers to TWS IB 0.2 eurusd long
I already tried but it seems my idea it's wrong

I would avoid to dramatically increase the balance on MT4 (x20) just to make TC transfers the minimum trade size at TWS IB....

----------------------------
<<--- pending orders window
You can size the bridge frame. Just move with mouse over right frame. The cursor should change and then drag to the right.>>

I mean the "filter execution" windows, opened when i use right clic of the mouse.
It can be resized

-----------------------------
no got reply about
NOTIFICATION
How does it work the notification from Bridge Software?
Does it notify by email when:
1. A trade is not opened from mt4 to tws?
2. A trade is not closed from mt4 to TWS?
I need to know also if TWS owns a notification feature.

thanks

board_admin
Site Admin
Posts: 186
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:24 pm

Re: Notification + Size limitation + partial fills

Post by board_admin » Tue Nov 20, 2018 2:50 pm

At IB, you can't have non integer ordersizes. Only 1,2,.....,100000

This video explains how the IB ordersize is calculated from MetaTrader lot size:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvTEtb5 ... e=youtu.be

There are 4 multipliers involved.

1. Per symbol multiplier (for forex 100.000 for future 1, for stock, i believe 100)
2. common symbol multiplier (default 1)
3. The per MetaTrader multiplier (default 1)
4. The IB Balance - MT Balance ratio multiplier (this is a switch: on/off. If off, the multiplier is =1, else it is =IB Balance / MT Balance)

The Final IB ordersize is simply the product of all multipliers times MT lot size.

Example:
MT lotsize = 0.01
The per symbol multipler is 100.000
The common symbol multiplier is 1
The per MetaTrader multiplier is 1
And balance ratio is off (so 1)

Then the final IB Balance = 0.01 x 100.000 x 1 x 1 x 1 = 1000

Post Reply