2 MT5 for 2 strategies with fake and true IB accounts

Discuss, post questions here about MTIBBridge the MetaTrader-Interactive Brokers trade-copier

Users who just registered, please write an email to
forum@trade-commander.de
with your username mentioned.
So we can distinguish you from bots.
Thank you
Post Reply
Guillaume
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2017 5:40 pm

2 MT5 for 2 strategies with fake and true IB accounts

Post by Guillaume » Tue Nov 07, 2017 1:25 am

Hi,
We would like to run a "strategy1" on IB in direct mode (so true money) and we would like in the same time to try a "strategy2" on an IB paper account (fake money).
So, is it possible to do that with 1 Bridge, 2 MT5, 2 IB account (one for live, one for paper trades)?
I run 2 MT5 (installed in 2 different directories), but the bridge sees only the one installed in the common directory (C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 5) and not the one installed in other directory (C:\Program Files\MetaTrader 5_2). Why I'm not supposed to see the 2 MT5 in bridge?

Thanks,
Regards
Guillaume

board_admin
Site Admin
Posts: 143
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2017 3:24 pm

Re: 2 MT5 for 2 strategies with fake and true IB accounts

Post by board_admin » Tue Nov 07, 2017 3:46 pm

I am sorry, this is not possible. The bridge can only connect to one IB account and multiple MT4/5 accounts.
The IB account can be single or FA.
(It is not recommended to run more than one TWS or gateway on one machine.)

Some options:
1. Get a 2nd license of the bridge and run a 2nd bridge on same machine. Use the configuration feature for this.

2. Not sure what you like to accomplish but perhaps you can implement the same strategy by 2 different MetaTrader accounts instead
of 2 different TWS accounts ? The only thing you may need, is a communication somehow across MetaTrader instances.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest